Virtual Conference Schedule

Saturday, April 16, 2022  (Schedule is subject to change)

Conference Welcome/Opening Keynote Session
9:00am – 10:30am EST
8:00am – 9:30am CST
7:00am – 8:30am MST
6:00am – 7:30am PST 

Title: Stepping Into My Purpose
Presenter: Dr. Elaine Saunders

Break
10:30am – 10:45am EST
9:30am – 9:45am CST
8:30am – 8:45am MST
7:30am – 7:45am PST 

 

Session Block I – Leadership 
10:45am – 12:00pm EST
9:45am – 11:00am CST
8:45am – 10:00am MST
7:45am – 9:00am PST 

Session A
Workshop Title: Energy Leadership: Tool for Success
Presenter: Margaret Thompson
Description: We see the world through our own filters; as women our filters are different from men. These filters are based on our unique experiences, values, and assumptions and impact how we behave in different situations. The Energy Leadership session will allow the participants to understand how they are framing situations and determine if their behaviors are having the intended impact on others. Participants will: (1) describe the types and levels of Energy Leadership; (2) explain how their energy affects their impact on others; (3) identify potential Energy Blocks; and (4) demonstrate how they can adjust their energy levels and behavior to be more successful leaders (Coaching Demonstration).

Session B
Workshop Title: BrandYOU for Career
Presenter: Chelsea Williams
Description: In a world where it takes just 7 seconds to make a lasting impression, and digital communication is at the core of daily connections, it is more important than ever to BRANDYOU! Personal branding requires authenticity, differentiation, vision, and consistency. When students take steps to BRANDYOU, they propel and accelerate career opportunities. This program will highlight personal branding essentials and empower collegiate women towards showing up with greater awareness, intention, and vision.

 

Lunch Break
12:00pm – 1:00pm EST
11:00am – 12:00pm CST
10:00am – 11:00am MST
9:00am – 10:00am PST 

 

Session Block II – Women Empowerment
1:00pm – 2:15pm EST
12:00pm – 1:15pm CST
11:00am – 12:15pm MST
10:00am – 11:15am PST 

Session A
Workshop Title: “QUEEN: Let Me Help You Adjust Your Crown!”
Presenter: Dr. Tacquice Davis
Description: You never know which part of your story inspires someone to do something unexpected. Of course, we are well aware of women like Michelle Obama, Malala Yousafzai, and Susan B. Anthony—among many others like them whose story inspires several people to fight their battles even if the odds are against you. And it’s not always that they are the only people whose life story and events can inspire, but you never know that sharing your own story can motivate somebody to win over the challenges they might be facing. Let’s help each other adjust the crown that has been placed on our heads since birth.

Session B
Workshop Title: “Women Empowering Women: Supporting Women’s Navigation Post-College in A Male-Dominated Workforce”
Presenter: Dr. Naima Ricks
Description: In 2021, 5.5% of CEOs among 3,000 of the largest U.S. companies were women! Let’s talk about how we can empower and support each other to change this narrative. This workshop will assist you in increasing confidence in your ability to be successful in your goals as you plan for your next steps in life. Come discover the tips needed to be prepared in a male-dominated world.

Session C
Workshop Title: The‌ ‌W.I.S.E.‌ ‌(Women‌ ‌Intentionally‌ ‌Seeking‌ ‌Excellence)‌ ‌Experience‌
Presenter: Blaire Tinker
Description: Many women of color are overwhelmed with their daily responsibilities that they rarely take an introspective approach to how their cultural influences affect their interactions with others. We are navigating complex systems and an intentional approach to empowerment is the only way to high achieving and consistent success in your life. Learn to implement a framework that emphasizes the need for intentionality, authenticity, and acceptance of personal responsibility. Be WISE so that you may do WISE Work. 

 

Break
2:15pm – 2:30pm EST
1:15pm – 1:30pm CST
12:15pm – 12:30pm MST
11:15am – 11:30am PST 

 

Session Block III – Health & Wellness
2:30pm – 3:45pm EST
1:30pm – 2:45pm CST
12:30pm – 1:45pm MST
11:30am – 12:45pm PST 

Session A
Workshop Title: “Respect the Skin They’re In: A Intentional Look at the Impacts of Body Image and Student Engagement”
Presenter: Ellise Smith
Description: An exploration of body image related to the experience of those who identify as women. In today’s society, body image continues to control the experiences of most women and girls and creates negative experiences. This session will explore the history, impact, and a call to action to support the differences of bodies.

Session B
Workshop Title: “Because ‘This Too Won’t Pass’”
Presenter: Roslyn Gowens
Description: A program focused on the responsibility to center care on their healing journey. Women of color experience mental health concerns at a higher rate than other races. Although one of the most highly educated groups, hardworking, and career focused groups it is concerning. The program will focus on how all women can be responsible for calling in and appropriately approaching mental health conversations and provide resource opportunities. The goals are to destigmatize mental health so that it is not a taboo topic and to encourage regular dialogue and strategies. The program will approach the conversation through an equity and access lens so that humans understand and see themselves in this work. Often we tend to outsource resources to bridge a gap, however I want to ensure that every woman understands the power that they have to be the change and create a pathway forward for every woman. The program will infuse stories of women who have experienced trauma and centered healing but failed to feel the confidence to speak up about their experiences. At a time where we are seeing suicidal ideation, depression, anxiety, etc. at an all-time high rate, it is time that we make a commitment to show up and speak up for one another. It is all of our responsibility to make an effective charge forward to increase awareness and decrease stigma. If we approach the work from an introspective place we will be able to unlock our true potential in creating space and centering and uplifting voices of everyone.

Session C
Workshop Title: “The Power of self Care & Collective Healing”
Presenter: Jessica Newman
Description: This will be an engaging workshop to define radical rest, uncovering limiting beliefs, and take control of our self and collective healing journey. Being a social justice advocate it is crucial to take care of yourself in order to take care of your community. Thus, you will be provided tools and resources to help elevate your self-advocacy to positively impact your everyday leadership. 

Session Block IV- Closing
3:45pm – 4:30pm EST
2:45pm – 3:30pm CST
1:45pm – 2:30pm MST
12:45pm – 1:30pm PST 

Workshop Title: Planning for Action
Presenter: UCWLC Team